Women’s Fiction

Reviewed by: 

Early in Jessica Hagedorn’s fourth novel, Toxicology, filmmaker Mimi Smith is confronted on a New York subway by a poetry-spouting homeless man who asks her “Can you help me out with some

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Here we are in the time of our aging baby-boomers.

Reviewed by: 

The publisher is billing Madison Smartt Bell’s latest novel as a “taut, terrifying tale,” and one that “will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy.” That brought two problems to bea

Reviewed by: 

To the reader, the act of reading a good novel is not unlike taking a Sunday drive.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Fans of Ms. Macomber’s contemporary fiction will be delighted with this newest release of her Blossom Street series.

Reviewed by: 

In her first novel, Victoria Patterson returns to Newport Beach, California, the setting of her linked story collection, Drift.

Reviewed by: 

Ah, angst. When women are stressed out and dealing with emotional, life changing events, they tend to worry themselves to no end.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Frank Wildermuth fell in love with Gert Murphy, and then, in a strange twist of fate, marries her sister Clara.

Reviewed by: 

In her debut book The Daughters, Joanna Philbin introduced us to three best friends: Carina, daughter of one of the richest men in the world; Hudson, daughter of a famous pop star; and Liz

Reviewed by: 

If you’ve read The Dive from Clausen’s Pier or Songs Without Words, you are familiar with Ann Packer’s talent for restrained, transparent, beautiful prose.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Lucy Jarrett receives word that her mother has been in an accident. She feels bound to leave Japan for home after an absence of ten years.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The structure of Born Under a Lucky Moon is determined by Jeannie Thompson, the heroine, who goes back and forth relating the events of her life during two years, 1986 and 2006, and gives

Reviewed by: 

If Specters were as good as its opening line “The valley was full of ghosts” it could have been intriguing, but it is not.

Reviewed by: 

How many wonder what their life would be like if they chose a different path? This is the crux of Ellen Meister’s riveting novel, The Other Life.

Reviewed by: 

“The life of man, solitary, poor, nasty, brutish, and short.”
—Thomas Hobbes, English political philosopher (1588-–1679), The Leviathan

Reviewed by: 

Nora MacKenzie lost everything.

Reviewed by: 

Jimmy and Jack Sullivan, members of the band the Unknown Souls, travel the bar and club circuit hoping to make it big.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The Island, Hilderbrand’s ninth novel, takes place on tiny private Tuckernuck Island, meshing with Nantucket, the setting of her previous books.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The sins of a family always fall on the daughter.”
—P. F. Sloan

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The Brown Decision in 1954 by the Supreme Court ordered an end to segregation. Schools were mandated to integrate. Eight years later, 1962, nothing had changed in Jackson, Mississippi.

How does a successful author follow up mega-wattage success? That question has plagued best-selling writers since they started keeping track of book sales.

Reviewed by: 

Mullaby, North Carolina, is a sleepy town full of the rich scent of barbecue and the sound of closely kept secrets, secrets that glow in the dark and smell of sparkling sugar and vanilla.

Reviewed by: 

Full and proper character development appears to be becoming a lost art in fiction, but author Christina Baker Kline does her bit to revive the art in the intriguing novel Bird in Hand.

Pages