Families

Reviewed by: 

“a smart, entertaining and highly readable novel, one that should appeal to a diverse audience.”

Reviewed by: 

“The novel may be cool as it opens, but the ending is white hot. Both the unnamed family and the anonymous migrant children succeed as individual characters.

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Gornick has given her readers a tale suffused with pathos and moral imperative, which tugs kindly and powerfully at our hearts.”

Reviewed by: 

“What makes this novel a delight is the very relatable tale of a father struggling to know and love his daughter, to protect her from harm while allowing her to make her own choices and ful

Reviewed by: 

Crystal Hannah Kim’s celebrated debut novel can either be read as a tragic love story, in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, or as a feminist parable of a woman victimized by the Korean wa

Reviewed by: 

Half of What You Hear is a character driven, dishy, gossipy, fun read . . .”

Reviewed by: 

It's every parent's nightmare to discover their child has gone missing, but more heartrending is entrusting your youngster to a friend only to learn they've either been abducted or run away.

Reviewed by: 

“an insightful and smart look at Pakistani culture and the ways in which women are viewed and how they view themselves. . . .

Reviewed by: 

"quite a nicely baked short yarn, rather than a novel, but written a bit like a soufflé, rising in the oven but when eaten there isn’t that much substance."

Reviewed by: 

“For such an unabashedly polemical first novel, The Patricide of George Benjamin Hill works surprising well, due in large measure to the unremitting intensity of Charlesworth’s wri

Reviewed by: 

"If [Madhuri Vijay] goes on like this she will enter the first rank along with Arundhati Roy, Anita Desai, Vikram Seth, and half a dozen others. We will see much more of her."

Reviewed by: 

“Shahla Ujayli uses Joumane’s thoughts as a frame in which to tell stories that are rich in their historical perspective of the region and the people who populate it.

Reviewed by: 

"A Sky for Us Alone strives to be a novel of social commentary touching upon a wide variety of issues including drug abuse, economic inequality and hardship, fractured families, dome

Reviewed by: 

“Old Newgate Road is a complex and introspective account of one family's plight of abuse and heartbreak that plagues each member for decades.”

Reviewed by: 

“Come with Me is almost a phenomenal book.”

Reviewed by: 

“The power of this well-written novel grows as the story moves forward both historically and fictionally.

Reviewed by: 

“Uneven as it is, Family Trust need not be compared to Crazy Rich Asians in order to find an audience.

Reviewed by: 

“As always, Harrison’s plotting is tight, her pacing compelling, and her attack on the morality of the Mormon Church sharp-clawed yet heartbreaking.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“a love song, not to certainty, but to possibility. Philosophical and thought-provoking, Extinctions will remain with you long after the last page.”

Reviewed by: 

echoes of Cormac McCarthy’s eerie, early Appalachian writing.”

Reviewed by: 

“Rule masterfully navigates a series of difficult storytelling forms and tropes to emerge as a cohesive, compelling, and fast-paced fantasy adventure.”

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

For those who have been debutantes, this book will bring a knowing smile to your face; for those who have never been debutantes, it will cause a roaring guffaw to explode from your depths.

Reviewed by: 

“Sparks sure knows how to ignite the romance between two characters.”

“Whoever loved who loved not at first sight?” —William Shakespeare, As You Like It.

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

Janet Peery’ s second novel, The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs invites the reader into a tale of familial dysfunctionality that resonates on several levels.

Reviewed by: 

“A winning and wonderful novel, with a unique and distinctive storyline, there is a little bit of magic for everyone within the pages of this book.”    

Pages