Families

Reviewed by: 

Henry Maxwell, the main character in Stewart O’Nan’s latest novel, Henry Himself, is an expert moderator at fraught family dinners.

Reviewed by: 

In The Dream Daughter, time travel, the Vietnam War, North Carolina, and the modern digital world are all backdrop for a mother’s connection with and devotion to her unborn child.

Reviewed by: 

“Kwon wraps up the mystery of Sylvie’s disappearance at the end, but the discovery of how these characters change throughout the novel may be the more important journey.”

Reviewed by: 

“Weir’s presentation of Anna is interesting, intense, filled with myriad crises, and a fast read.”

Reviewed by: 

“What is most remarkable about Mostly Dead Things is that, despite the mishaps and travails of the Morton family, the novel is ultimately both highly entertaining and inspiring, as

Reviewed by: 

“My Life as a Rat is a quiet, contemplative tour-de-force.”

 

Reviewed by: 

This book, final volume of a trilogy, has been hailed as “hilarious” and “comedic” and similar terms.

Reviewed by: 

“a satisfying summer read.”

Reviewed by: 

“This novel’s greatest strength is the simplicity of its message: two boys who grew up in such different worlds playing soccer in the backyard and sneaking off to eat raspas offer us a grea

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

If you’ve read Mary Miller’s captivating debut, The Last Days of California—an eccentrically peopled coming-of-age tale—you might be expecting something similar from her second novel,

Reviewed by: 

Many little girls love parties, and in 1988 Zoe O'Flaherty, age five, is about to enter kindergarten.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Katie Ellis, who is divorcing her cheating husband Eric, is shocked when he brings his "friend" to the lawyer's office.

Reviewed by: 

Divorce attorney Leigh Huyett believed she had it all: a loving second husband, a mixed family consisting of her 20-year-old twin sons and her delightful 14-year-old daughter Chrissy.

Reviewed by: 

Feel-good stories abound, but this one offers a fresh and creative context: crop circles.

Reviewed by: 

The first page of When All Is Said is an advertisement from a Thomas Dollard for an “Edward VIII Gold Sovereign Coin, 1936. Willing to pay top price.”

Reviewed by: 

“In American Duchess the reader is afforded a remarkable and realistic portrait of a life well-lived in spite of and often in opposition to societal expectations.

Reviewed by: 

Englander finds fascinating ways to explore another of his great recurring themes: the points at which modernity and tradition may fruitfully, if uncomfortably—and always

Reviewed by: 

“The Quintland Sisters transports the reader to another time period . . .

Reviewed by: 

“Death Is Hard Work is a short book, but one learns more detail of the life of war than from a hundred newspaper and TV reports.

Reviewed by: 

“a smart, entertaining and highly readable novel, one that should appeal to a diverse audience.”

Reviewed by: 

“The novel may be cool as it opens, but the ending is white hot. Both the unnamed family and the anonymous migrant children succeed as individual characters.

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Gornick has given her readers a tale suffused with pathos and moral imperative, which tugs kindly and powerfully at our hearts.”

Reviewed by: 

“What makes this novel a delight is the very relatable tale of a father struggling to know and love his daughter, to protect her from harm while allowing her to make her own choices and ful

Reviewed by: 

Crystal Hannah Kim’s celebrated debut novel can either be read as a tragic love story, in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, or as a feminist parable of a woman victimized by the Korean wa

Reviewed by: 

Half of What You Hear is a character driven, dishy, gossipy, fun read . . .”

Pages