Murder

Reviewed by: 

Jonathan Lee’s fourth novel, The Great Mistake, opens in slyly reportorial fashion, queuing up both a dense biographical backstory and a baffling murder: “The last attempt on the life of A

Reviewed by: 

“A skillful blending of magic and mayhem, the supernatural with the mundane.

Reviewed by: 

“Compelling from beginning to end, Find You First will keep Barclay’s fans on the lookout for his next thrilling ride.”

Reviewed by: 

“. . . a quirky extension of the H. G. Wells story, filled with animal puns, dialogue reeking with black humor, as well as an ending guaranteed to satisfy.”

Reviewed by: 

Meredith Dickey and her husband Josh reside in a suburb of Chicago. A great place to live, it is family-oriented and considered one of the safest towns around.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Love Grisham, Coben, Gilstrap, early Lee Child? Can’t resist the puzzle solving of Dan Brown or the emotional prices portrayed by Louise Penny?

Reviewed by: 

“Dead of Winter is a formulaic hodge-podge that will appeal to readers who like Detroit, Jack Reacher-style violence, and enticing references to local cuisine.”

Reviewed by: 

“Siger’s novel is an enjoyable first step for appreciating this special foreign locale [Naxos, Greece].”

Reviewed by: 

“A delightful cozy romance and mystery, set in the middle of a decade when times might be changing but the motives for murder remained surprisingly the same.”

Reviewed by: 

“Singh’s brilliant book hooks us from the beginning and doesn’t let go. The descriptions are vivid, the setting is intriguing, and the plot provides twists.”

Reviewed by: 

“Brace yourself for a never-saw-it-coming ending.”

Reviewed by: 

“Pick up Exit if you’d like to sample a very new way of building a crime novel with an unusual pace. It has something of Jasper Fforde in the compiled coincidences.”

Reviewed by: 

“Patterson is a better writer than this, and it is hard to say if he is mentoring a writer new to the series, or not, but The Russian is a disappointment.”

Reviewed by: 

In some literary circles, describing a novel as “light reading” can be taken as a slur. Not so with this one.

Reviewed by: 

“Kellerman’s writing frames deep tenderness among her characters very well.

Reviewed by: 

“Whether you’re drawn to Watch Her for the high-fidelity Boston setting, with its contrasts of gritty working-class life and cultured wealth, or for the dramatic and classic intera

Reviewed by: 

“In They’re Gone, the ‘weaker sex’ is by no means weak. At all.”                                                   

Author(s):
Translator(s):
Reviewed by: 

Lazarus is a thriller par excellence, though it’s advisable to read it in small increments, for the accumulation of too much horror at o

Reviewed by: 

“In spite of a few weak spots, for those who enjoy a cozy with its fast read, this one works. All things considered—a good read for a chilly weekend indoors.”

Reviewed by: 

“Moonflower Murders will be either adored or dreaded by readers, with no middle ground.

Reviewed by: 

“Macallister’s writing is powerful, and she concocts a gripping story with strong, very human characterizations . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“Grisham has a knack for throwing curves into the story that, with any other writer, could be distracting, but with Grisham every curve is woven into the story and builds the tension throug

Reviewed by: 

“Nesbo is always a great storyteller. The world he depicts is bleak and potentially depressing, but he presents it with relentless power.”

Reviewed by: 

“Like the strongest authors in this genre, Selfon bares the effects of death on each of us.

Pages