Literary Fiction

Reviewed by: 

Sergio De La Pava’s Lost Empress begins with all the right things, interesting plot, smart dialogue, and punning wordplay but sadly, like a child’s letting go of an untied balloon, Los

Reviewed by: 

Meredith Hunt is accosted on the bike trail while jogging, and Ace Vance and his teenage son Finn come to her rescue.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The Cassandra, with its multiple parallels to the original story, might be the truest twist on the Cassandra myth ever attempted—and certainly the most relevant t

Reviewed by: 

“W. S. Merwin’s The Mays of Ventadorn beautifully combines literary autobiography with literary history . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“a wild ride into the unknown.”

Reviewed by: 

One woman recalls, “I remember how I felt when I turned 40: elated, powerful, at the top of my game. It was a dizzying time.

Reviewed by: 

“There’s a lilting music to this writer’s sentences, a love of language throughout.”

Reviewed by: 

“Graham’s poems are dense with meter and immersed in sound. They are living things that only surrender their technical cleverness to the human voice.

Reviewed by: 

The Rule of Law is the 18th novel in the Dismas Hardy legal thriller series by long-time bestselling author John Lescroart.

Reviewed by: 

“‘You have to forget the past so that you can live the future,’ a Syrian immigrant tells Jonas, revealing Lichtman’s key for Jonas to move forward through his pain.”

Reviewed by: 

“Feltman’s supreme ability to capture the emotional reality of her characters’ lives compels the reader forward. . . . a successful debut . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“Familial bonds are shattered, hearts are broken, and secrets are withheld until the ugly truth is exposed, making The Winter Sister a mesmerizing and complex thriller.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Gornick has given her readers a tale suffused with pathos and moral imperative, which tugs kindly and powerfully at our hearts.”

Reviewed by: 

“Schweblin delivers an unadulterated emotional impact—she succeeds, time and time again.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Though too untethered to a timeline to comprise a traditional rise-and-fall saga, American Pop delivers a wondrously mosaic-like, multigenerational chronicle of a family that buil

Reviewed by: 

“Despite the richness of Cander’s prose, in The Weight of a Piano she crafts a novel that staggers somewhat under its own weight and the weight it carries of its alienated and ofte

Reviewed by: 

Crystal Hannah Kim’s celebrated debut novel can either be read as a tragic love story, in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, or as a feminist parable of a woman victimized by the Korean wa

Reviewed by: 

“Schumann has an eye for detail, an ear for the rhythmical sentence, and a voice that is clear and resonant.”

Reviewed by: 

“a novel of considerable power that explores identity at the personal, social, and national level. It also has the elements of a mystery.

Reviewed by: 

Half of What You Hear is a character driven, dishy, gossipy, fun read . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“A story that is a sort of a Groundhog Day in the afterlife, Samuel Johnson’s Eternal Return is a worthwhile, thoughtful—and hilarious—read.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

In the fairy tale mashup Stain, Princess Lyra is born with skin so pale that it burns in the sun and so delicate it bruises just by touching.

Reviewed by: 

“It is a novel replete with the joy, cynicism, excitement, frustration, and other deep emotions that we often find accompanying any worthwhile, profound learning experience.”

Reviewed by: 

A Ladder to the Sky is not a book you want to love.

Reviewed by: 

“a perfect read in today's political climate.”

Pages