Women’s Fiction

Reviewed by: 

“Kate Christensen’s insights into the psyche of a middle-aged banished husband are astonishing.”

Reviewed by: 

“Camille Noe Pagán’s debut sweeps the reader up and effortlessly carries them across decades of friendship, heartache, and pain.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The blending of three or more generations and the secrets they harbor keeps this story moving briskly, culminating in a satisfying ending that makes us believe that despite heartache and angst, th

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Stephanie Bond’s mature style and strong writing ensures she has constant control, . . .”

Reviewed by: 

What do you do with the news that your wife’s brain tumor is terminal and she has nine months to live?

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The deliciousness that wafts from the pages of The Kitchen Daughter will make readers wonder how the author managed to concoct a story of magic, food, and Asperger’s syndrome, but as with

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Only exceptionally talented writers can maintain a concept over a span of 30 years with a book series, and make her fans feel at home among old friends reminiscing together. Jean M.

Reviewed by: 

Who would ever think that five completely different women would bond to become soul sisters?

Reviewed by: 

Early in Jessica Hagedorn’s fourth novel, Toxicology, filmmaker Mimi Smith is confronted on a New York subway by a poetry-spouting homeless man who asks her “Can you help me out with some

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Here we are in the time of our aging baby-boomers.

Reviewed by: 

The publisher is billing Madison Smartt Bell’s latest novel as a “taut, terrifying tale,” and one that “will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy.” That brought two problems to bea

Reviewed by: 

To the reader, the act of reading a good novel is not unlike taking a Sunday drive.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Fans of Ms. Macomber’s contemporary fiction will be delighted with this newest release of her Blossom Street series.

Reviewed by: 

In her first novel, Victoria Patterson returns to Newport Beach, California, the setting of her linked story collection, Drift.

Reviewed by: 

Ah, angst. When women are stressed out and dealing with emotional, life changing events, they tend to worry themselves to no end.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Frank Wildermuth fell in love with Gert Murphy, and then, in a strange twist of fate, marries her sister Clara.

Reviewed by: 

In her debut book The Daughters, Joanna Philbin introduced us to three best friends: Carina, daughter of one of the richest men in the world; Hudson, daughter of a famous pop star; and Liz

Reviewed by: 

If you’ve read The Dive from Clausen’s Pier or Songs Without Words, you are familiar with Ann Packer’s talent for restrained, transparent, beautiful prose.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Lucy Jarrett receives word that her mother has been in an accident. She feels bound to leave Japan for home after an absence of ten years.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The structure of Born Under a Lucky Moon is determined by Jeannie Thompson, the heroine, who goes back and forth relating the events of her life during two years, 1986 and 2006, and gives

Reviewed by: 

If Specters were as good as its opening line “The valley was full of ghosts” it could have been intriguing, but it is not.

Reviewed by: 

How many wonder what their life would be like if they chose a different path? This is the crux of Ellen Meister’s riveting novel, The Other Life.

Reviewed by: 

“The life of man, solitary, poor, nasty, brutish, and short.”
—Thomas Hobbes, English political philosopher (1588-–1679), The Leviathan

Reviewed by: 

Nora MacKenzie lost everything.

Pages