Incarceration

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The United States of America is home to over 3,000 jails. On any given day, these jails hold over 700,000 people. More than 12 million individuals pass through an American jail each year.

Reviewed by: 

“Stern offers an invaluable historical analysis of a nation’s moral order in crisis, one that Americans need to bear in mind as Trump’s war on those seeking asylum in the U.S.

Reviewed by: 

The incarceration of a loved one is a traumatic event. For many families, it is also life-altering.

Reviewed by: 

“In the end, something just doesn't smell right about this industry.”

Reviewed by: 

The Eighth Amendment to the United States Constitution prohibits cruel and unusual punishment at the hands of the government.

Reviewed by: 

“The criminal justice system is in need of a seismic shift, and Kelley, Pitman, and Streusands' proposal is exactly the kind of major change needed.”

Reviewed by: 

Teaching teenagers is a calling. Despite limited social respect and wages that sometimes border on mere subsistence, dedicated professionals heed the call. The job is not easy.

Reviewed by: 

James Forman Jr.’s new book tells an all-too-hidden and tragic part of the story of the rise of the racist mass incarceration state in the United States.

Reviewed by: 

“A must-read for any educator or anyone interested in better understanding the transcendental power of higher education.”

Reviewed by: 

“a refreshing look at the causes of mass incarceration . . . a must-read for anyone involved in the criminal justice reform movement.”

Reviewed by: 

The body of scholarship dedicated to analyzing, understanding, and changing America's enormous carceral complex is growing fast.

Reviewed by: 

“College for prisoners saves money and provides great net benefits to the prisoner and the community.”

Reviewed by: 

As a somewhat jaded and world-weary incarcerated writer, rarely do I read something that makes me really mad.

Reviewed by: 

“The criminal justice system has adapted itself to the world of mass incarceration.”

Reviewed by: 

In 1852 Charles Dickens said of solitary confinement, "I hold this slow and daily tampering with the mysteries of the brain, to be immeasurably worse than any torture of the body: and because its g

Reviewed by: 

Fans of Dwayne Michael Carter, Jr.—also known as Lil Wayne and Weezy—will want to pick up his new journal, Gone ’Til November.

Reviewed by: 

The For Beginners series of graphic nonfiction books take on complicated subjects in an authoritative but accessible and entertaining manner.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

As the nation comes to grips with the incarceration boom of the last several decades, sociologists, criminologists, and other experts have begun to closely examine the collateral consequences broug

Reviewed by: 

Sociologists, criminologists, and other scholars regularly study and debate what works about the American criminal justice system and what doesn't.

Reviewed by: 

"Prisoners," wrote Supreme Court Justice Anthony Kennedy, "retain the essence of human dignity. . . .