Musicians

Reviewed by: 

“This captivating story will sweep the reader through fascinating and glowing accounts of the great composer’s life . . .”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Does the world need another book about The Beatles?

Reviewed by: 

“Captivating and intriguing, Chopin’s Piano will most certainly entertain both novice and hardcore music historians.”

Reviewed by: 

Verdi’s life was the stuff operas are made of: sex scandals, political turmoil, creative pitfalls, testy divas, and meddling producers, but nothing stopped him from becoming the most famous opera c

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Fare Thee Well is a passionate and well-written exposé of the behind the scenes action of one of rock and roll’s most iconic bands . . .”

Reviewed by: 

Paul Simon: The Life is not an autobiography but it might as well be. Simon sat for more than 100 hours of interviews with respected writer Robert Hilburn and made it possible for Hilburn

Reviewed by: 

Actor-writer Simon Callow has published books on larger-than-life figures Oscar Wilde, Charles Laughton, and Orson Welles.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The fact that Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Phantom of the Opera is by far the longest running Broadway show (over 12,500 performances at this writing and still going strong), is baffling to some

Reviewed by: 

Gold Dust Woman, the unauthorized biography of pop music legend Stevie Nicks, can be read two ways.

Reviewed by: 

At first glance, the author and the subject of this book seem mismatched. Singer, songwriter, bard, and Nobel Prize winner, Bob Dylan, is the subject.

Reviewed by: 

“Elaine Hayes’ vivid portrait of Sarah Vaughan’s life, times, and indelible musical legacy reveals why she was indeed called The Divine One.”   

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Byrne touches on a broad array of forces that influence and shape the musical experience—from how it is created, performed, recorded, and distributed to more personally meaningful aspects

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

When promoting Inside Joy Division in 2012, Peter Hook hinted that a tell-all New Order book might be in the pipeline.

Reviewed by: 

British classical pianist James Rhodes is a rebel with a cause as he unleashes his iconoclastic view of the vaulted world of classical music in concert halls and on British TV and in the streets an

Reviewed by: 

“Love the music, love the man, read the book.  “

 

“Writing about music is like dancing about architecture.” —Attributed to many

Reviewed by: 

The very idea of a high-gloss, pricey photo book about the Sex Pistols seems ludicrous on the face of it.

Reviewed by: 

Fans of Dwayne Michael Carter, Jr.—also known as Lil Wayne and Weezy—will want to pick up his new journal, Gone ’Til November.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Generally, books about the Beatles can be divided into two groups, either the all-encompassing history of the band (Tune In by Mark Lewisohn is of course the best example but far from the

Reviewed by: 

Paul Du Noyer has set himself up with this book because, honestly, what else is there to say about Paul McCartney?

Reviewed by: 

Teenagers who heard the Wilson brothers—better known as the Beach Boys—harmonize on their big hits, “Surfin’ Safari,” “I Get Around,” “California Girls,” and “Good Vibrations” in the early 1960s, p

Reviewed by: 

Unsurprisingly, there have been numerous collections of photographs and thousands of words published about Led Zeppelin.

Reviewed by: 

The journalist, biographer, and Rolling Stone contributing editor Rob Sheffield calls David Bowie a lot of names: tramp, vagabond, and “the most alien of rock artists” to name a few.

Reviewed by: 

Imagine being Moby, the musician who just happens to be an actual descendant of Herman Melville (which is where Moby gets his nickname, get it?), and you’re asked to write your memoirs without the

Reviewed by: 

Writing an all-encompassing book about the life of Paul McCartney is akin to writing the definitive biography of Jesus Christ.

Reviewed by: 

It’s easy to think of Carly Simon—gorgeous, tall, and talented—as swanning through her charmed celebrity life.

Pages