Contemporary

Reviewed by: 

The publisher is billing Madison Smartt Bell’s latest novel as a “taut, terrifying tale,” and one that “will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy.” That brought two problems to bea

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

T. C. Boyle’s new novel opens with one of the most gripping chapters in contemporary fiction.

Reviewed by: 

Ah, angst. When women are stressed out and dealing with emotional, life changing events, they tend to worry themselves to no end.

Reviewed by: 

Every teenager has hang ups about some physical aspect of themselves. Seventeen-year-old Sarah Burke is no exception.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Successfully mixing two genres—comedy and crime—is a daunting task, but talented writers, like Tim Dorsey, manage to accomplish what readers seek in the mixture of the two.

Reviewed by: 

Anna, Portia, and Emery return home after their mother, Louise, has a massive heart attack.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Marvel Creek, in East Texas in the early 1930s, might be any small town in the South—rural bottomland bordered by the muddy Sabine River.

Reviewed by: 

The Cosmopolitans, Nadia Kalman’s smart, funny, wise, and entertaining debut novel explores the relationships and dynamics of a contemporary Russian-Jewish immigrant family from the former

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Cliff, a former Michigan English teacher turned farmer finds himself in a midlife crisis when his wife suddenly leaves home for another man.

Reviewed by: 

Nora MacKenzie lost everything.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The small town of Southport, North Carolina, is as quiet as they come. It’s the perfect place to relax for a weekend or just get away—and that’s exactly what newcomer Katie has done.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Most girls in high school are not the prettiest, the smartest, or the most experienced with boys. Most girls in high school are “mostly good girls.”

 

Reviewed by: 

Ms. Glass’s talent lies in writing about the complexities of family dynamics. The Widower’s Tale is her fourth novel and takes place in an idyllic, suburban Boston community.

Reviewed by: 

When a book mixes science, religious philosophy, and secret societies dating back to the Nazis, you can expect a really spicy pulp stew.

Reviewed by: 

Todd Johnson’s debut novel is not to be missed. This tale of five ordinary southern women will touch the reader’s heart. Set in a nursing home in rural Johnston County, N.

Reviewed by: 

Sometimes in life it takes the realization of the enormity of the problems of the less fortunate in the world to awaken individuals to issues that haunt them much closer to home.

Reviewed by: 

Fifteen-year-old Finn and her best friend Audrey are practically joined at the hip and share everything.

Reviewed by: 

Sean Ferrell’s daring first novel, Numb, is a Barthian fable which endeavors to chart a course through the murky waters of sensory overload in the modern world.

Reviewed by: 

High Noon, written by the New York Times bestselling author, Nora Roberts, offers her wide readership a riveting suspense story about Police Lieutenant Phoebe MacNamara’s dangerou

Author(s):
Genre(s):

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewed by: 

Full and proper character development appears to be becoming a lost art in fiction, but author Christina Baker Kline does her bit to revive the art in the intriguing novel Bird in Hand.

Pages