Ruth Rendell

Ruth Rendell is one of Britain’s most prolific contemporary writers of psychological thrillers and murder mysteries. Her first novel, From Doon with Death, introduced the world to Chief Inspector Reginald Wexford. Ms. Rendell has won many awards, including the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger for 1976’s best crime novel with A Demon in My View; a second Edgar in 1984 from the Mystery Writers of America for the best short story, “The New Girl Friend;” and a Gold Dagger award for Live Flesh in 1986. She was also the winner of the 1990 Sunday Times Literary award, as well as the Crime Writers’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger.

In addition to police procedurals starring her most iconic creation, Chief Inspector Wexford, Ms. Rendell writes psychological crime novels exploring such themes as romantic obsession, misperceived communication, the impact of chance and coincidence, and the humanity of the criminals involved. Among such books are A Judgement in Stone, The Face of Trespass, Live Flesh, Talking to Strange Men, The Killing Doll, Going Wrong, and Adam and Eve and Pinch Me. Ms. Rendell’s protagonists are often socially isolated, suffer from mental illness, and/or are otherwise disadvantaged; she explores the adverse impacts of their circumstances on these characters as well as on their victims.

Books Authored

Reviewed by: 

Ruth Rendell’s career as a crime and mystery writer is superbly capped with this, her final novel.

Reviewed by: 

Of the many virtuoso choices Ruth Rendell has made in her Inspector Wexford series (this is number 24) perhaps the best decision is to have characters age.

Reviewed by: 

“Electrifying and compelling from start to finish, The Vault is an absorbing and skilful exploration of evil told with the distinctive and par excellence voice of author Rendell at