Women’s Fiction

Reviewed by: 

“Though the theme of selling one’s soul is an ancient one, this page-turner is a contemporary look into the moral and psychological implications of one’s cherished desires being manifested

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Ms. Graves does a fine job of balancing sharp, sexy humor with warm, authentic emotion. Bernie and Jeremy make the reader both chuckle and feel their pain—a truly potent combination.

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“My gal done me wrong is a terrific reason for an anthology. Noir, much beloved in both books and movies, is notable for the unsentimental portrayal of violence and sex.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“In the end, Aftertaste is a great reminder to all of us that sometimes life can spin out of control, but by and large, with good ingredients, a set of sharp knives and a solid understandin

Reviewed by: 

“What could be better than the high-speed, high-stakes, high-danger and testosterone-fueled venue of race car driving filled with competitive men with a spunky Irish girl determined to win

Reviewed by: 

“. . . the literary equivalent of a bridge too far.”

Reviewed by: 

“Pretty is ex-pretty girl Bebe Baker’s story. . . . Bebe’s in-your-face voice is one of the novel’s strengths. . . . At times Bebe is maddening, but in Ms.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“All [the stories in this collection] share a quality of an emotional ache. And all share a tendency toward material that is overworked, with tales told in unfortunate verb tenses . . .

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Author Cook hits the mark by addressing the single mother’s angst, fears, and worries regarding her child as well as herself.

Reviewed by: 

“Kate Christensen’s insights into the psyche of a middle-aged banished husband are astonishing.”

Reviewed by: 

“Camille Noe Pagán’s debut sweeps the reader up and effortlessly carries them across decades of friendship, heartache, and pain.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The blending of three or more generations and the secrets they harbor keeps this story moving briskly, culminating in a satisfying ending that makes us believe that despite heartache and angst, th

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Stephanie Bond’s mature style and strong writing ensures she has constant control, . . .”

Reviewed by: 

What do you do with the news that your wife’s brain tumor is terminal and she has nine months to live?

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The deliciousness that wafts from the pages of The Kitchen Daughter will make readers wonder how the author managed to concoct a story of magic, food, and Asperger’s syndrome, but as with

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Only exceptionally talented writers can maintain a concept over a span of 30 years with a book series, and make her fans feel at home among old friends reminiscing together. Jean M.

Reviewed by: 

Who would ever think that five completely different women would bond to become soul sisters?

Reviewed by: 

Early in Jessica Hagedorn’s fourth novel, Toxicology, filmmaker Mimi Smith is confronted on a New York subway by a poetry-spouting homeless man who asks her “Can you help me out with some

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Here we are in the time of our aging baby-boomers.

Reviewed by: 

The publisher is billing Madison Smartt Bell’s latest novel as a “taut, terrifying tale,” and one that “will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy.” That brought two problems to bea

Reviewed by: 

To the reader, the act of reading a good novel is not unlike taking a Sunday drive.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Fans of Ms. Macomber’s contemporary fiction will be delighted with this newest release of her Blossom Street series.

Reviewed by: 

In her first novel, Victoria Patterson returns to Newport Beach, California, the setting of her linked story collection, Drift.

Reviewed by: 

Ah, angst. When women are stressed out and dealing with emotional, life changing events, they tend to worry themselves to no end.

Pages