Contemporary

Reviewed by: 

“an effervescent book, comprised of two equally well-rounded stories . . .”

“if you really care about something in life, do whatever it takes not to lose it.”

Reviewed by: 

It is November 9th, the day before Fallon is upending her life to relocate from California to New York by herself.

Reviewed by: 

Optimist Libby Miller’s life takes an unimaginable terrifying turn. On the very day she learns she has a life-threatening illness, her husband, Tom, reveals a marriage-ending secret.

Reviewed by: 

“When it comes to romance, ‘careful’ is my middle name.”

Reviewed by: 

Among the many different cultural subsets in New York City, there is a group of food elitists.

Reviewed by: 

Desperate to start a family, Elizabeth gives up her dangerous career in fire containment and arson investigation for a quiet life in her husband, Ben’s small, Rocky Mountain hometown.

Reviewed by: 

“It’s such a confusing thing, what’s okay and what isn’t okay and what’s accepted and who’s a whore. It’s a furious balance.”

Reviewed by: 

“lovely book . . . a strong story of life after loss . . .”

Reviewed by: 

This book gets off to a rough start, both for the heroine, who gets railroaded out of business by hostile locals and becomes desperate for money, and for the reader, who has to endure her aggressiv

Reviewed by: 

When Erica Jong’s groundbreaking novel, Fear of Flying, was published in 1973, it rocked the world.

Reviewed by: 

“Edward Kelsey Moore knows how to write a terrific, complex, believable, and always intriguing story.”

Reviewed by: 

“. . . rich in history, steeped in family tradition, and full of emotion—a lesson in practiced elegance.”

Reviewed by: 

“Three friends share their fears and secrets making More Like Her an intense contemporary novel of kinship—and learning the grass is not always greener on the other side of the fen

Reviewed by: 

“This tender, coming of age debut novel is seasoned throughout with similes and metaphors, adding spice to the characters and the description of this scenic yet secluded setting.

Reviewed by: 

“Though the theme of selling one’s soul is an ancient one, this page-turner is a contemporary look into the moral and psychological implications of one’s cherished desires being manifested

Reviewed by: 

“What could be better than the high-speed, high-stakes, high-danger and testosterone-fueled venue of race car driving filled with competitive men with a spunky Irish girl determined to win

Reviewed by: 

“Pretty is ex-pretty girl Bebe Baker’s story. . . . Bebe’s in-your-face voice is one of the novel’s strengths. . . . At times Bebe is maddening, but in Ms.

Reviewed by: 

“Camille Noe Pagán’s debut sweeps the reader up and effortlessly carries them across decades of friendship, heartache, and pain.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Stephanie Bond’s mature style and strong writing ensures she has constant control, . . .”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Here we are in the time of our aging baby-boomers.

Reviewed by: 

The publisher is billing Madison Smartt Bell’s latest novel as a “taut, terrifying tale,” and one that “will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy.” That brought two problems to bea

Reviewed by: 

Ah, angst. When women are stressed out and dealing with emotional, life changing events, they tend to worry themselves to no end.

Reviewed by: 

If Specters were as good as its opening line “The valley was full of ghosts” it could have been intriguing, but it is not.

Reviewed by: 

Nora MacKenzie lost everything.

Pages