Contemporary

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Here we are in the time of our aging baby-boomers.

Reviewed by: 

The publisher is billing Madison Smartt Bell’s latest novel as a “taut, terrifying tale,” and one that “will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy.” That brought two problems to bea

Reviewed by: 

Ah, angst. When women are stressed out and dealing with emotional, life changing events, they tend to worry themselves to no end.

Reviewed by: 

If Specters were as good as its opening line “The valley was full of ghosts” it could have been intriguing, but it is not.

Reviewed by: 

Nora MacKenzie lost everything.

Reviewed by: 

Todd Johnson’s debut novel is not to be missed. This tale of five ordinary southern women will touch the reader’s heart. Set in a nursing home in rural Johnston County, N.

Reviewed by: 

Mullaby, North Carolina, is a sleepy town full of the rich scent of barbecue and the sound of closely kept secrets, secrets that glow in the dark and smell of sparkling sugar and vanilla.

Reviewed by: 

Still Missing is Chevy Stevens’s debut novel—it is that good. Stevens writes as if she has been doing it for years.

Reviewed by: 

Martyrdom Street, by Firoozeh Kashani-Sabet, is an interesting and informative book about life in Iran and America during the Revolution and after the Iran-Iraq War from about 1979 to 1993

Reviewed by: 

Mary Gooch has heard the comment so many times.

Pages