Contemporary

Reviewed by: 

“Edward Kelsey Moore knows how to write a terrific, complex, believable, and always intriguing story.”

Reviewed by: 

“. . . rich in history, steeped in family tradition, and full of emotion—a lesson in practiced elegance.”

Reviewed by: 

“Three friends share their fears and secrets making More Like Her an intense contemporary novel of kinship—and learning the grass is not always greener on the other side of the fen

Reviewed by: 

“This tender, coming of age debut novel is seasoned throughout with similes and metaphors, adding spice to the characters and the description of this scenic yet secluded setting.

Reviewed by: 

“Though the theme of selling one’s soul is an ancient one, this page-turner is a contemporary look into the moral and psychological implications of one’s cherished desires being manifested

Reviewed by: 

“What could be better than the high-speed, high-stakes, high-danger and testosterone-fueled venue of race car driving filled with competitive men with a spunky Irish girl determined to win

Reviewed by: 

“Pretty is ex-pretty girl Bebe Baker’s story. . . . Bebe’s in-your-face voice is one of the novel’s strengths. . . . At times Bebe is maddening, but in Ms.

Reviewed by: 

“Camille Noe Pagán’s debut sweeps the reader up and effortlessly carries them across decades of friendship, heartache, and pain.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Stephanie Bond’s mature style and strong writing ensures she has constant control, . . .”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Here we are in the time of our aging baby-boomers.

Reviewed by: 

The publisher is billing Madison Smartt Bell’s latest novel as a “taut, terrifying tale,” and one that “will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy.” That brought two problems to bea

Reviewed by: 

Ah, angst. When women are stressed out and dealing with emotional, life changing events, they tend to worry themselves to no end.

Reviewed by: 

If Specters were as good as its opening line “The valley was full of ghosts” it could have been intriguing, but it is not.

Reviewed by: 

Nora MacKenzie lost everything.

Reviewed by: 

Mullaby, North Carolina, is a sleepy town full of the rich scent of barbecue and the sound of closely kept secrets, secrets that glow in the dark and smell of sparkling sugar and vanilla.

Reviewed by: 

Still Missing is Chevy Stevens’s debut novel—it is that good. Stevens writes as if she has been doing it for years.

Reviewed by: 

Martyrdom Street, by Firoozeh Kashani-Sabet, is an interesting and informative book about life in Iran and America during the Revolution and after the Iran-Iraq War from about 1979 to 1993

Reviewed by: 

Mary Gooch has heard the comment so many times.

Reviewed by: 

Todd Johnson’s debut novel is not to be missed. This tale of five ordinary southern women will touch the reader’s heart. Set in a nursing home in rural Johnston County, N.

Pages