Fiction

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Harper’s writing is beautiful and descriptive.

Reviewed by: 

The Rule of Law is the 18th novel in the Dismas Hardy legal thriller series by long-time bestselling author John Lescroart.

Reviewed by: 

The Hiding Place has enough shocks and twists to keep the reader off balance until the last page.”

Reviewed by: 

“Taylor Adams brings left field surprises one after the other at a speed that will force you to stop reading every once in a while so you can catch the breath you're holding and remind your

Reviewed by: 

One woman recalls, “I remember how I felt when I turned 40: elated, powerful, at the top of my game. It was a dizzying time.

Reviewed by: 

“There’s a lilting music to this writer’s sentences, a love of language throughout.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Gornick has given her readers a tale suffused with pathos and moral imperative, which tugs kindly and powerfully at our hearts.”

Reviewed by: 

“It’s stylish to portray Mossad as the least likeable and most dangerous of all the secret mission forces in the Western world.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Though too untethered to a timeline to comprise a traditional rise-and-fall saga, American Pop delivers a wondrously mosaic-like, multigenerational chronicle of a family that buil

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“it’s the taint of a shell-shock diagnosis, something considered so offensive and humiliating in postwar society that it can terminate Rutledge’s career almost as quickly as a bullet to the

Reviewed by: 

“Familial bonds are shattered, hearts are broken, and secrets are withheld until the ugly truth is exposed, making The Winter Sister a mesmerizing and complex thriller.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Languid, haunting, surreal, and utterly beautiful, this tale is in part a profound meditation on self-reflection and inner strength in the face, and in the painful grip, of abuse—and yet i

Reviewed by: 

“Feltman’s supreme ability to capture the emotional reality of her characters’ lives compels the reader forward. . . . a successful debut . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“Schweblin delivers an unadulterated emotional impact—she succeeds, time and time again.

Author(s):
Illustrator(s):
Reviewed by: 

Penguin Days provides learning of the most important kind, and has an added bonus of sweet humor, age appropriate text, and engaging illustrations.” 

Reviewed by: 

“‘You have to forget the past so that you can live the future,’ a Syrian immigrant tells Jonas, revealing Lichtman’s key for Jonas to move forward through his pain.”

Reviewed by: 

“A great, big, fun, sprawling book that satisfies even to the final page.”

“The Wheel Turns.”

Reviewed by: 

The Wedding Guest proves once again why this series has become the longest-running American crime series.”      

Reviewed by: 

“Rollins' brisk pacing and efficient choreography of action scenes leads the story through a variety of kidnapping, rescues, escapes, ambushes, and showdowns in both the present 2077 and th

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“This 48th entry in the In Death series continues raising the bar in the mystery genre.”

Reviewed by: 

“Surprisingly, although Stalker is less than completely satisfying on its own, one can’t wait to see what happens next in this remarkable series.”

Reviewed by: 

“Despite the richness of Cander’s prose, in The Weight of a Piano she crafts a novel that staggers somewhat under its own weight and the weight it carries of its alienated and ofte

Reviewed by: 

“What makes this novel a delight is the very relatable tale of a father struggling to know and love his daughter, to protect her from harm while allowing her to make her own choices and ful

Reviewed by: 

Crystal Hannah Kim’s celebrated debut novel can either be read as a tragic love story, in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, or as a feminist parable of a woman victimized by the Korean wa

Reviewed by: 

“Daughters of the Lake provides an immersive reading experience to those who love ghostly mysteries, time travel, and lovely descriptions.”

Pages