8-12

Reviewed by: 

“Fans of Smile and Sisters will find this an equally compelling read, full of wisdom, humor, and Telgemeier’s engaging visual storytelling.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“a rollicking adventure, part misfit superhero story, part humorous friendship tale . . .”

Reviewed by: 

"Smart, capable people come in all different packages."

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“A lively mix of words and pictures . . .”

Author(s):
Illustrator(s):
Reviewed by: 

Penguin Days provides learning of the most important kind, and has an added bonus of sweet humor, age appropriate text, and engaging illustrations.” 

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“strikes a sweet and wistful note, focusing on true friendship and how it endures through life’s changes. All in all, a fitting farewell for the Terrible Two.”

Reviewed by: 

With this fifth graphic novel in the Dog Man series, Dav Pilkey shows no signs of slowing down.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Be prepared for an eerie night-time experience!

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The engaging illustrations, exposure to the world of Beijing, timeless themes, and sweet characters make My Beijing a worthy addition to any library. It’s a keeper.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The London author Michael Rosen has been the poet laureate of the UK. He knows poetry. What is Poetry?

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

It is a difficult task to dive into the sequel to a book that received universal praise and many starred reviews without having read that first acclaimed book.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Humans have long had a love affair with cuddly bears. Think Winnie the Pooh, Baloo from The Jungle Book, and everyone’s wise-cracking favorite, Yogi!

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“I want to buy a copy.” “It’s beautiful.” “I love it.” These are direct quotes from book club members who saw an advanced copy of Melissa Sweet’s latest biography for young readers, Some Writer

Reviewed by: 

“African folktales always invite us to talk about how characters behave,” writes acclaimed author Beverley Naidoo in the foreword to her latest title, a patchy collection of stories hailing from ni

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Raymie Nightingale is filled with humor, poignancy, and life-sized lessons.

Reviewed by: 

My Bug Adventure is a funny fill-in by National Geographic that is colorful and potentially very silly. Similar to Mad Libs, funny fill-ins can be played alone or with a partner.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Kyle Keeley and his teammates, Miguel, Akimi, Sierra, and Haley are back. Kyle and his friends have become celebrities, starring on television commercials for Luigi L.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Young children have always been among the most vulnerable members of society, and yet they have not always been regarded as such.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“undeniable charm of Kinney’s art.  . . . hilarious. . . . remarkable. . . . good comic timing.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The Marvels by Brian Selznick, author and illustrator of The Invention of Hugo Cabret, is a multilayered masterpiece in which the illustrated story tells of a theatrical family, t

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“What was the point of being different if you couldn’t be special?”

Reviewed by: 

“Imaginary friends are like books. We’re created, we’re enjoyed, we’re dog-eared and creased, and then we’re tucked away until we’re needed again.”  

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“When did the rules change, she wondered. When did it become bad to be good?”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“deliciously funny . . .”

The world’s most unusual nanny pig is back in this side-splitting sequel to The Adventures of Nanny Piggins!

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

In this third book in Ms. Warren Smith’s series, we are once again privy to the antics and concerns of nine-year-old Katie Jordan.

Pages