Fiction

Reviewed by: 

“This finely textured novel is made up of many . . . small, intimate moments, yet the effect is sweeping, grand, and lavish—and all deeply moving.”

Reviewed by: 

“With a diverse and colorful cast of characters, and two very challenging crimes to solve, The Empty Birdcage is a delightful telling of the relationship between a pair of siblings

Reviewed by: 

“This is a graphic novel for people who don't like graphic novels, a sports book for readers who don't like sports books.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“A thriller recommended for fans of the genre, and also for those who enjoy historical fiction.”

Reviewed by: 

“The long-awaited third novel of the Relic series is here.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Surgeon Erika Sheraton's life consists of working 18+ hours a day at Alaska General Hospital.

Reviewed by: 

When “the brass upstairs decided to promote a brown-nosing pile of crap and my least favorite partner ever, a fellow by the name of Paul Kramer, to be my boss . . .

Reviewed by: 

“If you like your thrillers fast-paced, intelligent, tough and good to the last drop, The Deserter is right up your alley.

Reviewed by: 

“This balance, between nihilism and delight, is the great power of Fly Already.

Reviewed by: 

The braided narrative is not a new novel form. Authors have long used interwoven but seemingly disparate plotlines to achieve a whole that is greater than its parts.

Reviewed by: 

“Gorgeous graphics and a neat idea cannot save what eventually becomes a tragically flawed effort.”

Reviewed by: 

The Dead Beat Scroll is a delicious casserole of crime noir.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Lulu is a black Labrador who was recruited into a CIA dog-training program. She had a nose for everything. That’s how she ended up at the police dog academy.

Reviewed by: 

“Walt Longmire is one of the most beloved lawmen in contemporary American crime fiction.”

Reviewed by: 

“Gripping and spine-tingling, What Rose Forgot is sure to raise the hackles of lovers of psychological thrillers.”

Reviewed by: 

“Fans of Smile and Sisters will find this an equally compelling read, full of wisdom, humor, and Telgemeier’s engaging visual storytelling.”

Reviewed by: 

The second novel in Amber Lynn Natushch’s Hometown Antihero series, Don’t Say a Word, plunges the reader into the action from the first sentence as narrator Kylene Danners wakes up in a ho

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“All families will appreciate the message of how crazy-much parents love their children.”

Reviewed by: 

“Reading Night Boat to Tangier, one might hear echoes of Talking Heads’ singing ‘Once in a Lifetime,’ and you ask yourself, ‘How did I get here?’” 

Reviewed by: 

“Martin Edwards crafts vivid descriptions of both character and setting that embed the reader into the scene in a way few writers can achieve.”

Reviewed by: 

“Peopled with strong female characters, A Single Thread is a tribute to those women who defied convention and dared to find happiness in a world that had nothing left to offer them

Reviewed by: 

“Linwood Barclay delivers another high-octane thriller with enough red herrings to serve a dinner party of 12 . . .”

“DeDakis, a former journalist, can’t decide whether he’s writing a mystery, a political roman à clef or a YA book, and the result is none of the above.”

Reviewed by: 

“At times Stealing the Scream is laugh-out-loud funny, but it is always filled with enough mystery to encourage the reader to keep turning the page.”

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

To appreciate this surrealistic story, you should know something about the realities of urban renewal worldwide, the city planner Le Corbusier devoted to the use of cement in his “Brutalist” struct

Pages