Literary Fiction

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Though too untethered to a timeline to comprise a traditional rise-and-fall saga, American Pop delivers a wondrously mosaic-like, multigenerational chronicle of a family that buil

Reviewed by: 

“‘You have to forget the past so that you can live the future,’ a Syrian immigrant tells Jonas, revealing Lichtman’s key for Jonas to move forward through his pain.”

Reviewed by: 

“Feltman’s supreme ability to capture the emotional reality of her characters’ lives compels the reader forward. . . . a successful debut . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“Schweblin delivers an unadulterated emotional impact—she succeeds, time and time again.

Reviewed by: 

“Despite the richness of Cander’s prose, in The Weight of a Piano she crafts a novel that staggers somewhat under its own weight and the weight it carries of its alienated and ofte

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Gornick has given her readers a tale suffused with pathos and moral imperative, which tugs kindly and powerfully at our hearts.”

Reviewed by: 

“Familial bonds are shattered, hearts are broken, and secrets are withheld until the ugly truth is exposed, making The Winter Sister a mesmerizing and complex thriller.”

Reviewed by: 

Crystal Hannah Kim’s celebrated debut novel can either be read as a tragic love story, in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, or as a feminist parable of a woman victimized by the Korean wa

Reviewed by: 

“Schumann has an eye for detail, an ear for the rhythmical sentence, and a voice that is clear and resonant.”

Reviewed by: 

“a novel of considerable power that explores identity at the personal, social, and national level. It also has the elements of a mystery.

Reviewed by: 

Half of What You Hear is a character driven, dishy, gossipy, fun read . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“A story that is a sort of a Groundhog Day in the afterlife, Samuel Johnson’s Eternal Return is a worthwhile, thoughtful—and hilarious—read.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

In the fairy tale mashup Stain, Princess Lyra is born with skin so pale that it burns in the sun and so delicate it bruises just by touching.

Reviewed by: 

A Ladder to the Sky is not a book you want to love.

Reviewed by: 

“It is a novel replete with the joy, cynicism, excitement, frustration, and other deep emotions that we often find accompanying any worthwhile, profound learning experience.”

Reviewed by: 

“a perfect read in today's political climate.”

Reviewed by: 

“In Ullmann’s artful hands, the sadness of witnessing the physical and mental decline of her father has been transformed into a unique and intimate recitation of a child’s love.

Reviewed by: 

“perhaps Dawson is a gardener, gently lifting away weeds and leaving the reader ready for the seeds she will sow.”

Reviewed by: 

“Although Amsterdam Noir doesn’t hit the heights of other entries in the city noir anthology series, it remains an appealing compendium, with welcome doses of local color and atmos

Reviewed by: 

The publication of poet Sylvia Plath’s newly discovered short story, Mary Ventura and the Ninth Kingdom, follows the highly acclaimed second and final volume of her letters (The Letter

Reviewed by: 

"quite a nicely baked short yarn, rather than a novel, but written a bit like a soufflé, rising in the oven but when eaten there isn’t that much substance."

Reviewed by: 

"If [Madhuri Vijay] goes on like this she will enter the first rank along with Arundhati Roy, Anita Desai, Vikram Seth, and half a dozen others. We will see much more of her."

Reviewed by: 

“Author David R. Gillham has taken the brave, difficult risk of turning an icon into a real teenager.”

This is not your mother’s Anne Frank.

Reviewed by: 

Most alternate histories reimagine big turning points or the momentous decisions of famous people.

Pages