Literary Fiction

Reviewed by: 

Crystal Hannah Kim’s celebrated debut novel can either be read as a tragic love story, in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, or as a feminist parable of a woman victimized by the Korean wa

Reviewed by: 

“Schumann has an eye for detail, an ear for the rhythmical sentence, and a voice that is clear and resonant.”

Reviewed by: 

“a novel of considerable power that explores identity at the personal, social, and national level. It also has the elements of a mystery.

Reviewed by: 

Half of What You Hear is a character driven, dishy, gossipy, fun read . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“A story that is a sort of a Groundhog Day in the afterlife, Samuel Johnson’s Eternal Return is a worthwhile, thoughtful—and hilarious—read.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

In the fairy tale mashup Stain, Princess Lyra is born with skin so pale that it burns in the sun and so delicate it bruises just by touching.

Reviewed by: 

A Ladder to the Sky is not a book you want to love.

Reviewed by: 

“It is a novel replete with the joy, cynicism, excitement, frustration, and other deep emotions that we often find accompanying any worthwhile, profound learning experience.”

Reviewed by: 

“In Ullmann’s artful hands, the sadness of witnessing the physical and mental decline of her father has been transformed into a unique and intimate recitation of a child’s love.

Reviewed by: 

“perhaps Dawson is a gardener, gently lifting away weeds and leaving the reader ready for the seeds she will sow.”

Reviewed by: 

“a perfect read in today's political climate.”

Reviewed by: 

“Although Amsterdam Noir doesn’t hit the heights of other entries in the city noir anthology series, it remains an appealing compendium, with welcome doses of local color and atmos

Reviewed by: 

The publication of poet Sylvia Plath’s newly discovered short story, Mary Ventura and the Ninth Kingdom, follows the highly acclaimed second and final volume of her letters (The Letter

Reviewed by: 

"quite a nicely baked short yarn, rather than a novel, but written a bit like a soufflé, rising in the oven but when eaten there isn’t that much substance."

Reviewed by: 

“Author David R. Gillham has taken the brave, difficult risk of turning an icon into a real teenager.”

This is not your mother’s Anne Frank.

Reviewed by: 

"If [Madhuri Vijay] goes on like this she will enter the first rank along with Arundhati Roy, Anita Desai, Vikram Seth, and half a dozen others. We will see much more of her."

Reviewed by: 

Most alternate histories reimagine big turning points or the momentous decisions of famous people.

Reviewed by: 

America is very accustomed to shootings, violence and the human suffering this evokes.

Reviewed by: 

“Shahla Ujayli uses Joumane’s thoughts as a frame in which to tell stories that are rich in their historical perspective of the region and the people who populate it.

Reviewed by: 

"Chigozie Obiama is one of many top-notch Nigerian novelists writing today."

Reviewed by: 

“[Main character] Norris’ evolution from cynical outsider to involved, caring insider is a journey well-worth following—especially as it’s accompanied with laugh out loud moments along with

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“In this tender and heartfelt story, Sofia Lundberg offers a reminder that those we too easily dismiss, such as the elderly, have rich histories and lives that we can learn from.”

Reviewed by: 

“Old Newgate Road is a complex and introspective account of one family's plight of abuse and heartbreak that plagues each member for decades.”

Reviewed by: 

"a worthy read about this gorgeous and talented woman."

Pages