Bruce Hale

Raised by wolves just outside Los Angeles, Bruce Hale worked as a surveyor, actor, DJ, English teacher (in Japan), and corporate lackey, before turning to a career in writing. He has written and illustrated more than 50 seriously funny books for young readers, including his award-winning series, The Chet Gecko Mysteries, The Monstertown Mysteries, and the Clark the Shark picture books. (One of which ended up in a McDonald’s Happy Meal. Not the way you’re thinking.)  

His book, The Malted Falcon, was nominated for an Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America, and Murder, My Tweet won a Little D Award for Humor Writing.  Mr. Hale’s fractured fairytale, Snoring Beauty, landed on Oprah’s Recommended Reading for Kids list.

A Fulbright Scholar (in Storytelling), he is in demand as a speaker, having presented at conferences, universities, and schools from New York to New Delhi. His acting credits include plays and musicals, TV commercials, and an independent movie.

Mr. Hale is a member of the National Speakers Association, the Mystery Writers of America, and the Society for Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators.  A firm believer in fun, he can often be found hiking, kickboxing, or singing latin jazz with his band, Mezcal Martini.

Book Reviews by Bruce Hale

Reviewed by: 

Continuing the swashbuckling saga begun with Seafire, Natalie C.

Reviewed by: 

“Fans of Smile and Sisters will find this an equally compelling read, full of wisdom, humor, and Telgemeier’s engaging visual storytelling.”

Reviewed by: 

“Trelease’s tale deftly weaves together fantasy, history, sisterly conflict, and young love into a rich tapestry. Her story brims with lovely, vivid descriptions . . .”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“an engrossing family drama laced with humor, as well as a fascinating window into Haitian life.”

Reviewed by: 

“engaging characters, relatable issues, and hip-hop flavored poetry will have readers scarfing up this latest offering like a banana split in summertime.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Better known to many as the original illustrator of Harry Potter, Mary GrandPré has illustrated over 20 picture books and here is handling both the words and pictures.

Reviewed by: 

“From its first sentence to its last, Last Things is a propulsive thriller readers will have a hard time putting down.”

Reviewed by: 

“A perfect read for a summer’s day.”

Reviewed by: 

“Greet the sun, bold and bright!

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Spooner deftly paints a portrait of a woman born before her time and coming to enjoy the borrowed freedoms her secret identity provides. . . .

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Offer[s] young readers plenty of opportunity to read their own ideas into the story, flex their imagination, and explore their own fear of the unfamiliar.”

Reviewed by: 

“Forsooth, methinks this chapter book is a winner!”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Clanton’s Narwhal and Jelly follow in the grand tradition of early reader buddy tales like Frog and Toad or Elephant and Piggie, and this latest tale is sure to find an h

Reviewed by: 

“a lively, action-packed tale. Fantasy fans and heist aficionados alike will delight in Sky’s adventures and cheer on her ragtag team of thieves.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“strikes a sweet and wistful note, focusing on true friendship and how it endures through life’s changes. All in all, a fitting farewell for the Terrible Two.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Like the faerie folk whose wicked doings it depicts, The Wicked King is truly spellbinding, with an ending that will leave its readers panting for the next installment.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The charming story is sure to enchant . . .

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Alligator Jazz has enough heart and excellent illustrations to overcome its limitations and carry the day.

Reviewed by: 

The latest entry in Shannon and Dean Hale’s popular Princess in Black series is sure to charm their legions of young readers.

Reviewed by: 

“Sones’ fans are sure to enjoy this harrowing tale of obsession, abuse, and ultimately, empowerment.”

Reviewed by: 

With this fifth graphic novel in the Dog Man series, Dav Pilkey shows no signs of slowing down.

Reviewed by: 

This heady blend of sci-fi, romance, and revolution reels in the reader from the start.