Contemporary

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Among the conventions the author has dissolved include a clear timeline, narrative flow, a single version of events, and revelation of character through action. Some of Ms.

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Ah, Paris. . . . drawn here with deftness and delicacy, from the open-air markets to the multiple bars and cafes—appears to cast a spell . . . Dramatic fiction is all about bad decisions.

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“This is where Ross E. Goldstein’s story comes to life: as he puts the reader smack in the middle of the world of professional cycling. Mr.

Reviewed by: 

“. . . an important historical work of fiction.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“In other hands, the fate of a beautiful and world-famous woman leaving it all behind, including her sons, could have been no better than chick lit with a twist.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“In this book about one of THE MOST FAMOUS WRITERS ON EARTH (at the moment), you can find out how the late author took his coffee.

Reviewed by: 

“Nemonymous Night is not an easy read; however—and here’s the rub—it’s entirely readable.”

Reviewed by: 

J. M. Tohline’s first novel, The Great Lenore, is a beautiful book. It is beautiful in the same way that J. D. Salinger’s books are beautiful.

Reviewed by: 

What do you do with the news that your wife’s brain tumor is terminal and she has nine months to live?

Reviewed by: 

Nestled in the hills of northern New Mexico is Agua Bendita—a sleepy village where the laws of physics snooze in the afternoon sun and memories are the only road signs.

Reviewed by: 

Who would ever think that five completely different women would bond to become soul sisters?

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Suzanne Brockmann’s books in recent years have become increasingly gritty— disturbingly so.

Reviewed by: 

The publisher is billing Madison Smartt Bell’s latest novel as a “taut, terrifying tale,” and one that “will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy.” That brought two problems to bea

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

T. C. Boyle’s new novel opens with one of the most gripping chapters in contemporary fiction.

Reviewed by: 

Ah, angst. When women are stressed out and dealing with emotional, life changing events, they tend to worry themselves to no end.

Reviewed by: 

Every teenager has hang ups about some physical aspect of themselves. Seventeen-year-old Sarah Burke is no exception.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Successfully mixing two genres—comedy and crime—is a daunting task, but talented writers, like Tim Dorsey, manage to accomplish what readers seek in the mixture of the two.

Reviewed by: 

Anna, Portia, and Emery return home after their mother, Louise, has a massive heart attack.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Marvel Creek, in East Texas in the early 1930s, might be any small town in the South—rural bottomland bordered by the muddy Sabine River.

Reviewed by: 

The Cosmopolitans, Nadia Kalman’s smart, funny, wise, and entertaining debut novel explores the relationships and dynamics of a contemporary Russian-Jewish immigrant family from the former

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Cliff, a former Michigan English teacher turned farmer finds himself in a midlife crisis when his wife suddenly leaves home for another man.

Reviewed by: 

Nora MacKenzie lost everything.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The small town of Southport, North Carolina, is as quiet as they come. It’s the perfect place to relax for a weekend or just get away—and that’s exactly what newcomer Katie has done.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Most girls in high school are not the prettiest, the smartest, or the most experienced with boys. Most girls in high school are “mostly good girls.”

 

Reviewed by: 

Sometimes in life it takes the realization of the enormity of the problems of the less fortunate in the world to awaken individuals to issues that haunt them much closer to home.

Pages