Genre Fiction

Reviewed by: 

“full of compulsively readable little stories that each feel developed beyond their few pages.”

Reviewed by: 

“A lovely book, a worthy debut novel, a satisfying read.”

Reviewed by: 

“The Stranger Diaries is an ambitious, evocative, and thoroughly tantalizing offering from an author who is not afraid to stray beyond her comfort zone.

Reviewed by: 

“Macallister’s exploration of both the public and the personal takes this novel to a higher level.”

Reviewed by: 

Famous Men Who Never Lived uses a classic science fiction trope (alternate universes) to explore the urgent question of what it means to be a refugee.

Reviewed by: 

“With her two Walter Mosley-like gifts—impeccable narrative pacing and masterful command of Los Angeles’ intricate, evolving dynamics of race and class—Nina Revoyr’s L.A.

Reviewed by: 

“This is a rare coming-of-age story so richly told and wholly captivating that Czapnik may in time find herself held up and used as the example of what fine literary writing is all about.”

Reviewed by: 

“Death Is Hard Work is a short book, but one learns more detail of the life of war than from a hundred newspaper and TV reports.

Reviewed by: 

A beautifully written novel, translated from the Italian, with a heartwarming story against a backcloth of misery and degradation, about a priest and a gang of boys and one of the boy’s sister, 16-

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

" It’s fascinating to look back at life centuries ago, to imagine the people and their circumstance, and this novel fleshes them out with an assured storytelling style."

Reviewed by: 

“Sycamore seems to be forcing the reader to look at social injustices in a way that makes us realize the world is unfair.”

Reviewed by: 

“The novel may be cool as it opens, but the ending is white hot. Both the unnamed family and the anonymous migrant children succeed as individual characters.

Reviewed by: 

“a smart, entertaining and highly readable novel, one that should appeal to a diverse audience.”

Reviewed by: 

“J. S. Breukelaar is a writer of obvious talent, demonstrated over and over in this collection.”

Reviewed by: 

Meredith Hunt is accosted on the bike trail while jogging, and Ace Vance and his teenage son Finn come to her rescue.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The Cassandra, with its multiple parallels to the original story, might be the truest twist on the Cassandra myth ever attempted—and certainly the most relevant t

Reviewed by: 

“Lindsay Faye has written a crackling historical mystery in language that sings in its dialogue, description, and narrative.”

Reviewed by: 

“‘You have to forget the past so that you can live the future,’ a Syrian immigrant tells Jonas, revealing Lichtman’s key for Jonas to move forward through his pain.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Gornick has given her readers a tale suffused with pathos and moral imperative, which tugs kindly and powerfully at our hearts.”

Reviewed by: 

Crystal Hannah Kim’s celebrated debut novel can either be read as a tragic love story, in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, or as a feminist parable of a woman victimized by the Korean wa

Reviewed by: 

“What makes this novel a delight is the very relatable tale of a father struggling to know and love his daughter, to protect her from harm while allowing her to make her own choices and ful

Reviewed by: 

“a novel of considerable power that explores identity at the personal, social, and national level. It also has the elements of a mystery.

Reviewed by: 

Half of What You Hear is a character driven, dishy, gossipy, fun read . . .”

Reviewed by: 

It's every parent's nightmare to discover their child has gone missing, but more heartrending is entrusting your youngster to a friend only to learn they've either been abducted or run away.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“readers will enjoy this funny, imaginative, and handsomely crafted novel first and foremost as a memorable work of literature, and as such it deserves to reach a wide audience.”

Pages