Genre Fiction

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

" It’s fascinating to look back at life centuries ago, to imagine the people and their circumstance, and this novel fleshes them out with an assured storytelling style."

Reviewed by: 

“Sycamore seems to be forcing the reader to look at social injustices in a way that makes us realize the world is unfair.”

Reviewed by: 

“a smart, entertaining and highly readable novel, one that should appeal to a diverse audience.”

Reviewed by: 

“J. S. Breukelaar is a writer of obvious talent, demonstrated over and over in this collection.”

Reviewed by: 

“The novel may be cool as it opens, but the ending is white hot. Both the unnamed family and the anonymous migrant children succeed as individual characters.

Reviewed by: 

Meredith Hunt is accosted on the bike trail while jogging, and Ace Vance and his teenage son Finn come to her rescue.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The Cassandra, with its multiple parallels to the original story, might be the truest twist on the Cassandra myth ever attempted—and certainly the most relevant t

Reviewed by: 

“Lindsay Faye has written a crackling historical mystery in language that sings in its dialogue, description, and narrative.”

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Gornick has given her readers a tale suffused with pathos and moral imperative, which tugs kindly and powerfully at our hearts.”

Reviewed by: 

“‘You have to forget the past so that you can live the future,’ a Syrian immigrant tells Jonas, revealing Lichtman’s key for Jonas to move forward through his pain.”

Reviewed by: 

“What makes this novel a delight is the very relatable tale of a father struggling to know and love his daughter, to protect her from harm while allowing her to make her own choices and ful

Reviewed by: 

Crystal Hannah Kim’s celebrated debut novel can either be read as a tragic love story, in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, or as a feminist parable of a woman victimized by the Korean wa

Reviewed by: 

“a novel of considerable power that explores identity at the personal, social, and national level. It also has the elements of a mystery.

Reviewed by: 

Half of What You Hear is a character driven, dishy, gossipy, fun read . . .”

Reviewed by: 

It's every parent's nightmare to discover their child has gone missing, but more heartrending is entrusting your youngster to a friend only to learn they've either been abducted or run away.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“readers will enjoy this funny, imaginative, and handsomely crafted novel first and foremost as a memorable work of literature, and as such it deserves to reach a wide audience.”

Reviewed by: 

“an insightful and smart look at Pakistani culture and the ways in which women are viewed and how they view themselves. . . .

Reviewed by: 

"The Kingdom of Copper will appeal to fans of epic fantasy across the board . . ."

Reviewed by: 

"quite a nicely baked short yarn, rather than a novel, but written a bit like a soufflé, rising in the oven but when eaten there isn’t that much substance."

Reviewed by: 

"If [Madhuri Vijay] goes on like this she will enter the first rank along with Arundhati Roy, Anita Desai, Vikram Seth, and half a dozen others. We will see much more of her."

Reviewed by: 

“Author David R. Gillham has taken the brave, difficult risk of turning an icon into a real teenager.”

This is not your mother’s Anne Frank.

Reviewed by: 

“For such an unabashedly polemical first novel, The Patricide of George Benjamin Hill works surprising well, due in large measure to the unremitting intensity of Charlesworth’s wri

Reviewed by: 

“Shahla Ujayli uses Joumane’s thoughts as a frame in which to tell stories that are rich in their historical perspective of the region and the people who populate it.

Reviewed by: 

"Chigozie Obiama is one of many top-notch Nigerian novelists writing today."

Reviewed by: 

“This fictional biography, as narrated by the subject himself, has the fascinating flavor of those infamous but sought-after 19th century dime novels.”

Pages