Children

Reviewed by: 

Beverly, Right Here is absolutely the sort of novel many teachers and librarians will be eager to press on children.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“What looks like a simple story is an important one for polka-dotted, striped, or tan children out there. For pink ones, too!”

Reviewed by: 

“This is a graphic novel for people who don't like graphic novels, a sports book for readers who don't like sports books.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“A wonderfully fun young graphic picture book, the perfect way to revive this old Yiddish classic.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Lulu is a black Labrador who was recruited into a CIA dog-training program. She had a nose for everything. That’s how she ended up at the police dog academy.

Reviewed by: 

“Fans of Smile and Sisters will find this an equally compelling read, full of wisdom, humor, and Telgemeier’s engaging visual storytelling.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“All families will appreciate the message of how crazy-much parents love their children.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

I Am a Thief! is a cute picture book with an ambivalent message.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Rex’s compeling account of growing up poor and hungry will resonate with many readers in similar circumstances, and hopefully, trigger empathy in those who live more fortunate lives.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“a rollicking adventure, part misfit superhero story, part humorous friendship tale . . .”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Sometimes the simplest stories are the best.”

Reviewed by: 

"Smart, capable people come in all different packages."

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“a clever must-read.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“This cute and funny read-aloud will enchant the audience of a pet-themed storytime or delight any young animal lover at home or before bed.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Budding naturalists—or any child with an inquisitive mind—will delight in the opportunity to learn so much in such an amusing, well-written book.”

Reviewed by: 

"Sibling rivalry's run amuck!"

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“an important book for any home or library collection.”

Reviewed by: 

“engaging characters, relatable issues, and hip-hop flavored poetry will have readers scarfing up this latest offering like a banana split in summertime.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Young readers will certainly need some adult guidance to grasp this important and timely message, and some adults might not feel comfortable with the book’s simplified delivery.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Better known to many as the original illustrator of Harry Potter, Mary GrandPré has illustrated over 20 picture books and here is handling both the words and pictures.

Reviewed by: 

Who doesn’t know Dr. Seuss and his most famous children’s book titles, Green Eggs and Ham, and The Cat in the Hat?

Reviewed by: 

“Young readers will relate to the joys of creating a secret hideout and having a special companion.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“A standout among the board book crowd.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Hip-hip-hooray for the power of love! When a pet dragon’s flame goes out, a young pet dragon owner tries feverishly to figure out how to relight his dragon. Things are tough.

Reviewed by: 

The work of Jamaica Kincaid, author, memoirist, essayist, professor, reached literary heights despite her biography: She was born into poverty in St.

Pages