José Saramago

José Saramago (1922–2010) was the author of many novels, among them Blindness and The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis. In 1998 he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Books Authored

Reviewed by: 

“. . . [a] febrile but readable novel . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“. . . a work that is rich in the details of the artist’s outer and inner life . . .”

Reviewed by: 

“Cain inserts himself into the biblical narrative and wedges himself into these patriarchal stories to undermine their presumptions and prejudices.”