The Red Scrolls of Magic (The Eldest Curses)

Image of The Red Scrolls of Magic (The Eldest Curses)
Author(s): 
Release Date: 
April 9, 2019
Publisher/Imprint: 
Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 
368
Reviewed by: 

“Those who have been waiting a long time for this new addition to the Shadowhunters series will be thrilled with the story brought to them by Clare and Chu.”

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and Shadowhunters books will rejoice! Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood are back, they’re together, and they’re facing both romance and danger. As a new couple, they are taking their first vacation together, figuring out who they are to each other. Magnus is a high warlock, and Alec is a Shadowhunter—not two people who would naturally find themselves in love. Magnus can’t believe how much he wants it to work.

“This time Magnus intended to get Paris right. In his four hundred years of wandering the world, he had learned that wherever you traveled, it was the company that mattered. He looked across the small table at Alec Lightwood, who was ignoring the flitter and glamour of Paris in order to write postcards to his family back home, and smiled.”

Alec feels strongly also, hoping the vacation will form a bond between them, despite the problems it could cause back home, with his family.

“He didn’t care if they were fighting a cult or in a hot-air balloon, or, for that matter, fighting a cult from the platform of a hot-air balloon, which was starting to feel like a plausible future development in his life. He was just happy to be with Magnus. He’d never imagine that a romantic vacation, with someone he really wanted to be with, was something he could actually have, or even something it was okay to want.”

Just into their vacation, they hit a snag. A cult called the Crimson Hand starts causing problems, and rumor has it that Magnus himself founded the cult and is running it. Magnus has no memory of such a thing, but it seems his memories have been altered. With a few carefully chosen friends and allies, Magnus and Alec search out the truth, hoping to find who is behind the lie—or the truth that Magnus can’t grasp.

Along the way they talk with vampires, werewolves, faeries, and other warlocks, hoping to find their way to the culprit. They also end up facing violent demons, which causes exciting, terrifying, and sometimes humorous fights.

“Dazed and disoriented, Magnus looked up and saw the full white moon hovering above the jagged mountaintops. Beneath him, the train was speeding along a bridge. Magnus was dangling in the air above a ravine. All that prevented him from falling to his death was the black tentacle wrapped around his waist. The tentacle was not a huge comfort.”

Those who have been waiting a long time for this new addition to the Shadowhunters series will be thrilled with the story brought to them by Clare and Chu. The novel is also dubbed as Book One of The Eldest Curses, so fans can be sure there’s more coming!