Fiction

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

When field worker Sucoh Sucop shows up at the Nicefolks’ farm looking for work, Ever and Ima Nicefolk hire him. In payment all they can offer him is a place to sleep and meals.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Hamlet’s Gertrude. The Taming of the Shrew’s Katherina.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

    

 

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Roly Poly Pangolin is a 40-page picture book about a pangolin named Roly Poly who is afraid of everything. One day Roly Poly sets out on an adventure holding tight to mama’s tail.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

I’m always a little uncomfortable with the incongruity between the terms Irish writer and Irish Writer—between the caricature of the first and the cynicism of the second.

Author(s):
Illustrator(s):
Reviewed by: 

Pony Scouts: Pony Crazy is a simple, 32-page, easy reader about horses and a girl named Meg. Meg loves everything to do with horses.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Fifteen-year-old Finn and her best friend Audrey are practically joined at the hip and share everything.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

In Dublin, a well-known newspaper editor called Cartwright is found dead, suicide suspected.

Reviewed by: 

 Illumination Arts, March 2006 Mrs. Murphy happily lives on a very fine street. Her snooty neighbors make fun of her little house and do not pay her any attention.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Marilyn Meredith captures the essence of an untimely death in her paranormal romance, Lingering Spirit. Police officer Steve Ainsworth is gunned down during a routine traffic stop.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“I’m not a sexy dancer despite my athletic skills.”“To want what we have /
 To take what we’re given with grace . . .” 

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Doublethink must go.” These words destroy a man’s life rather than create the challenge intended by the sender.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Margaret Hawkins is a Chicago writer and art critic. She has contributed to ARTnews and Chicago’s WBEZ public radio station. She also had a long-running column in the Chicago Sun-Times.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Homesick is a warm, embracing novel that captures how, lacking clear boundaries, Israeli neighbors observe one another’s private lives close up.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Reading the existing blurb, which uses phrases like “cozy mysteries” and “feline cozies,” and perusing the beginning of Clea Simon’s latest book—which has Dulcie Schwartz trying to get her kitten t

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The sins of a family always fall on the daughter.”
—P. F. Sloan

Reviewed by: 

This charming book consists of two novellas; the first is Feeding Mrs.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Andrew Ervin’s debut, Extraordinary Renditions, is a triptych of novellas set in contemporary Budapest, a city that straddles not only the Danube but also the old world/new world divide.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Welcome to Elysiana, New Jersey, circa 1969—an island, physically and metaphorically, off the coast of New Jersey.

Reviewed by: 

Fans of William Peter Blatty who are expecting a supernatural mystery in the vein of The Exorcist or Legion may be disappointed in his first full-length novel in many years.

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

What is terrifying? What makes you feel the hairs on the back of your neck stand up? What makes you repeatedly look over your shoulder?

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

 Aharon Appelfeld’s Blooms of Darkness (originally published in 2006 as Pirkhei Ha’afeilah) conveys the Shoah experiences of Hugo, an eleven-year-old Jewish boy who witnesses the

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Rarely does a book ever really live up to the hype it can generate. Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall was a book talked about even before its publication date.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

"Ms. Shefelman has written an enchanting tale that is sure to please youngsters."

Pages