Fiction

Reviewed by: 

Fans of William Peter Blatty who are expecting a supernatural mystery in the vein of The Exorcist or Legion may be disappointed in his first full-length novel in many years.

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

What is terrifying? What makes you feel the hairs on the back of your neck stand up? What makes you repeatedly look over your shoulder?

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

 Aharon Appelfeld’s Blooms of Darkness (originally published in 2006 as Pirkhei Ha’afeilah) conveys the Shoah experiences of Hugo, an eleven-year-old Jewish boy who witnesses the

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Rarely does a book ever really live up to the hype it can generate. Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall was a book talked about even before its publication date.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

"Ms. Shefelman has written an enchanting tale that is sure to please youngsters."

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“I am so tired of being Alice in Wonderland.”
—Alice Liddell

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

It’s easy to imagine author Dixon sitting in libraries and film archives taking copious notes.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“I wondered what he knew about the family; what he didn’t know. What family he lived in. My mind wandered around.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Nothing stirs a female heart more than a handsome man with a physical challenge. The inherent mothering instinct is intertwined with a mixture of physical desire and deep-seated admiration.

Reviewed by: 

I Am Number Four is the first young adult novel from the infamous, best selling author James Frey and the debut novel of his co-author, Columbia MFA graduate, Jobie Hughs.

Reviewed by: 

Already short-listed for the 2010 Man Booker Prize, Tom McCarthy’s new novel C is rightly deserving of the highest accolades, both on and off the literary podium.

Reviewed by: 

Murder in Vein starts off with a tense and exciting kidnapping, and then falls into worldbuilding that slows things down.

Reviewed by: 

Alienation, teen angst, and loneliness are the themes of this debut novel by the youngest winner of Italy’s prestigious literary award, “The Prima Strega.”

Reviewed by: 

 (Harcourt Children’s Books, April 2009) Grumpy old Ignatius B.

Reviewed by: 

“I want him brought to me alive.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Royal families hold the title of being the precursor of reality entertainment. These infamous courts provide more melodrama and intrigue than chivalry and decorum.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Beautiful yet vulnerable, Teresa McLaughlin knows how to push people’s buttons to get what she wants; she’s had lots of practice during her volatile fifteen-year marriage to Chris Donatti, who morp

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

My Dad My Hero, a 32-page picture book, examines how special fathers are in a child’s life.

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

Steampunk is a genre for thinkers, and this book proves the point.

Reviewed by: 

This is the ninth collaboration between author Jamie Lee Curtis and illustrator Laura Cornell and it is perhaps the sweetest—but not so sweet as to give you a mouthful of cavities.

Reviewed by: 

On May 11 2010, the curtain well and truly rose on Stefanie Pintoff’s burgeoning crime fiction career, pulling her out of the shadows and into the limelight.

Reviewed by: 

Wilde in Love has everything readers of romance could wish, as well as a delightful twist of an ending.”

Reviewed by: 

“Kill Creek is the perfect novel to read on Halloween.”

Reviewed by: 

In his newest novel, Crimes of the Father, Booker Prize-winner Thomas Keneally succeeds in the seemingly impossible task of burrowing deeply into the mindset of a pedophilic Catholic pries

Pages