Fiction

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Homesick is a warm, embracing novel that captures how, lacking clear boundaries, Israeli neighbors observe one another’s private lives close up.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Reading the existing blurb, which uses phrases like “cozy mysteries” and “feline cozies,” and perusing the beginning of Clea Simon’s latest book—which has Dulcie Schwartz trying to get her kitten t

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“The sins of a family always fall on the daughter.”
—P. F. Sloan

Reviewed by: 

This charming book consists of two novellas; the first is Feeding Mrs.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Andrew Ervin’s debut, Extraordinary Renditions, is a triptych of novellas set in contemporary Budapest, a city that straddles not only the Danube but also the old world/new world divide.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Welcome to Elysiana, New Jersey, circa 1969—an island, physically and metaphorically, off the coast of New Jersey.

Reviewed by: 

Fans of William Peter Blatty who are expecting a supernatural mystery in the vein of The Exorcist or Legion may be disappointed in his first full-length novel in many years.

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

What is terrifying? What makes you feel the hairs on the back of your neck stand up? What makes you repeatedly look over your shoulder?

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

 Aharon Appelfeld’s Blooms of Darkness (originally published in 2006 as Pirkhei Ha’afeilah) conveys the Shoah experiences of Hugo, an eleven-year-old Jewish boy who witnesses the

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Rarely does a book ever really live up to the hype it can generate. Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall was a book talked about even before its publication date.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

"Ms. Shefelman has written an enchanting tale that is sure to please youngsters."

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“I am so tired of being Alice in Wonderland.”
—Alice Liddell

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

It’s easy to imagine author Dixon sitting in libraries and film archives taking copious notes.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“I wondered what he knew about the family; what he didn’t know. What family he lived in. My mind wandered around.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Nothing stirs a female heart more than a handsome man with a physical challenge. The inherent mothering instinct is intertwined with a mixture of physical desire and deep-seated admiration.

Reviewed by: 

I Am Number Four is the first young adult novel from the infamous, best selling author James Frey and the debut novel of his co-author, Columbia MFA graduate, Jobie Hughs.

Reviewed by: 

Already short-listed for the 2010 Man Booker Prize, Tom McCarthy’s new novel C is rightly deserving of the highest accolades, both on and off the literary podium.

Reviewed by: 

Murder in Vein starts off with a tense and exciting kidnapping, and then falls into worldbuilding that slows things down.

Reviewed by: 

Alienation, teen angst, and loneliness are the themes of this debut novel by the youngest winner of Italy’s prestigious literary award, “The Prima Strega.”

Reviewed by: 

 (Harcourt Children’s Books, April 2009) Grumpy old Ignatius B.

Reviewed by: 

“I want him brought to me alive.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Royal families hold the title of being the precursor of reality entertainment. These infamous courts provide more melodrama and intrigue than chivalry and decorum.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Beautiful yet vulnerable, Teresa McLaughlin knows how to push people’s buttons to get what she wants; she’s had lots of practice during her volatile fifteen-year marriage to Chris Donatti, who morp

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

My Dad My Hero, a 32-page picture book, examines how special fathers are in a child’s life.

Pages