Mystery & Thriller

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Stein, Stoned, Hal Ackerman’s “first Harry Stein soft-boiled murder mystery,” is a delightful, lighthearted detective story that becomes more and more intriguing and exciting as it unfolds

Reviewed by: 

Fear or faith? When the world comes to an end, how will you respond?

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

This fine author had a hit last year with his novel, Trust No One. The question is: Did he follow that effort with another that’s just as good or better?

Reviewed by: 

Having majored in Business Administration while in college, I know just how dry and boring subjects like Economics and Financing can be, which is why finding a modern day pulp thriller set in World

Reviewed by: 

Inheritance: n.
1. The act of inheriting.
2. The biological process of genetic transference of characteristics from parents to offspring.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

There’s a new sheriff in town, well, actually he’s a new hero created by a successful author of several action/mystery novels involving the FBI.

Reviewed by: 

Still Missing is Chevy Stevens’s debut novel—it is that good. Stevens writes as if she has been doing it for years.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

 Odd Hours is Koontz’s fourth thriller starring his psychic hero, Odd Thomas.  He was to be named Todd, but a misprint on his birth certificate left him with a unique name to match his uniqu

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Talk about being in the wrong place in the wrong time.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

The Film Noir Encyclopedia is a joy for noir enthusiasts—a must-have for scholars, students, filmmakers, and fans.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Attorney Andy Carpenter is once again dragged into a criminal defense case that threatens to derail his laid back lifestyle.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Debut author Chandra Hoffman hooks her readers with a contemporary topic many people are passionate about: adoption.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

A Murder on London Bridge is the fifth of Susanna Gregory’s Thomas Chaloner series. These stories portray post-Restoration England in all its confusion and contradiction.

Reviewed by: 

Jilliane Hoffman’s legal thriller, Pretty Little Things, delivers a huge punch and hits you right in your biggest fear: How can I protect my child from the predators who troll the teen-friendly fre

Reviewed by: 

(Blackwyrm Publications, July 2009)

Reviewed by: 

John Grisham is famous for his two-dozen bestselling adult thrillers, including The Firm, The Pelican Brief, and The Client.

Reviewed by: 

Fiona Bristow lives on the picturesque Orcas Island in the Pacific Northwest. She is a canine search and rescue volunteer, along with her three trained retrievers, Peck, Newman, and Bogart.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“. . . (W)hat I thought was missing her has really been the part of me that loved her like that.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

With what weapon did Cain murder his brother Abel?  The first crime, as described in the bible strangely omits that particular detail, focusing instead on the moral outrage of the act itself.  Coul

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Read Slammer and you’ll feel a cold steel spike piercing your brain. You’ll feel your insides sucked out through your bellybutton.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Noir, by acclaimed author Robert Coover, is a brilliant parody of noir and hardboiled fiction and film. Noir is funny yet respectful, showing knowledge of the genre it parodies.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Margaret Hawkins is a Chicago writer and art critic. She has contributed to ARTnews and Chicago’s WBEZ public radio station. She also had a long-running column in the Chicago Sun-Times.

Reviewed by: 

". . . one of those great adventure/mystery stories we all yearn for . . ."

Reviewed by: 

Fans of William Peter Blatty who are expecting a supernatural mystery in the vein of The Exorcist or Legion may be disappointed in his first full-length novel in many years.

Reviewed by: 

Topical, intriguing, and suspenseful—all apt descriptions for Michael Angley’s Child Finder. His debut novel in the mystery trilogy about the perennial horror of child abductions could alm

Pages