Mystery & Thriller

Reviewed by: 

“a mashup of Norwegian noir and true crime at its finest, an amazing fictional account of Belle Gunness, one of the most prolific serial killers in history.”

Reviewed by: 

“With atmospheric writing and a literary bent, Palace of the Drowned is as much an exploration of the use of language and a study of the artistic experience, as it is a revelation

Reviewed by: 

“For the reader who expects an exciting spy thriller, this book does not deliver. The plot is less exciting, but Starford’s premise holds water.”

Reviewed by: 

“Greenwood’s fans will be satisfied as Miss Fisher uses her cunning and wit to solve another crime and keep her reputation intact.”

In this jaw-dropping psychological thriller we witness the laceration of motherhood.

Reviewed by: 

“it is in the quietest moments that this novel finds its greatest strengths.”

Reviewed by: 

“. . . a quirky extension of the H. G. Wells story, filled with animal puns, dialogue reeking with black humor, as well as an ending guaranteed to satisfy.”

Reviewed by: 

Meredith Dickey and her husband Josh reside in a suburb of Chicago. A great place to live, it is family-oriented and considered one of the safest towns around.

Reviewed by: 

“Fans of light suspense thrillers will keep their fingers crossed that the adventures of Avery Keene will continue at some point in the near future.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Love Grisham, Coben, Gilstrap, early Lee Child? Can’t resist the puzzle solving of Dan Brown or the emotional prices portrayed by Louise Penny?

Reviewed by: 

“As cozies go, this one is on top of the list. A quick read, a strong protagonist, good characters, and strong writing.”

Reviewed by: 

“Once one gets past the first half of the story, the pages begin to turn in more rapid succession.”

Reviewed by: 

“Korelitz is skilled at dropping the clues and fixating Jake [the protagonist] on his uncontrolled desire to move forward.”

Reviewed by: 

“Dead of Winter is a formulaic hodge-podge that will appeal to readers who like Detroit, Jack Reacher-style violence, and enticing references to local cuisine.”

Reviewed by: 

“Thanks to Jackson’s deep roots in the South, uncanny empathy, and storytelling talent, book clubs will talk about Mother May I in glowing terms for a long time.”

Reviewed by: 

What would you do if feeling unwell your doctor reported, "I'm sorry to have to tell you this, Jennifer, but you have a primary glioblastoma in your brain."? 

Reviewed by: 

“A masterful tale driven by Yan’s brisk pacing and evocative writing and details that pulse with truth.”

Reviewed by: 

In Marisa Silver’s book, The Mysteries, she tackles the conundrum of relationships—of family, of friends, of children, of adults. And therein lies the mystery of the title.

Reviewed by: 

Against the backdrop of turn-of-the-century France, a merry band of master crafters are swept into an adventure involving rival secret societies, rumors of the occult, and a complex network of hidd

Reviewed by: 

“a landmark in South African crime fiction.”

Reviewed by: 

“a tightly woven, fast-paced, tension-filled thrill ride.”

The unnamed assassin in Endings receives coded text messages that read like this:

Reviewed by: 

“the core nature of maleness and femaleness—the universality of humanness—shines through and reinvents itself to adapt to change in reality.”

Reviewed by: 

Bone Rattle is technically a “police procedural,” because the central character is a lawman (Deputy U.S. Marshal on the Alaska Fugitive Task Force) investigating crimes.

Reviewed by: 

“What a pleasure it is! Page after page features passages that beg to be read again, with wonderfully inventive visuals along the way. . . .

Reviewed by: 

“a fascinating novel, filled with facts about life in the fin-de-siècle of the Victorian Era, of the niche of women during that time, social comme

Pages