Garth Von Buchholz

Garth Von Buchholz is a Canadian author of dark fiction, poetry, drama, nonfiction, and arts criticism.
He owns and manages a thriving Internet strategy firm called Contentology in Victoria, BC, where he also teaches at Royal Roads University.
His most recent book of poetry, Mad Shadows, was published in June 2010, and his new nonfiction book is scheduled for publication in late 2010.
In addition to his work as a writer and Internet strategist, Mr. Von Buchholz is the editor and publisher of the new poetry journal called Dark Eye Glances.
In 2009, his highly successful Edgar Allan Poe 200 Project led to the founding of Poe International, a literary society for fans of author Edgar Allan Poe.
In 2010, he joined the board of Ballet Victoria in Victoria, BC, after many years as a professional arts critic. He is honored to be a regular book reviewer for the New York Journal of Books.

Book Reviews by Garth Von Buchholz

Reviewed by: 

Literary fiction concerns itself with extraordinary people in ordinary situations, says Stephen King in the Afterword of his new book.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

There’s something delightfully intrusive about peering into the lives of literary heroes of the past, reading their private correspondence and conducting forensic examinations of their everyday liv

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Even those who rarely read poetry in the course of an average day will usually be willing to ponder some sad, poignant, or inspirational elegiac verse upon the occasion of a loved one’s death.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Reading a book about the art of writing by horror master Stephen King is like sitting down with your favorite uncle to talk about how to fix cars.

Author(s):
Editor(s):
Illustrator(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Eden Fell is a surreal, character-driven novel about a young artist’s slow freefall into self-annihilation.

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Fans of William Peter Blatty who are expecting a supernatural mystery in the vein of The Exorcist or Legion may be disappointed in his first full-length novel in many years.

Reviewed by: 

Book of Shadows, the fourth novel by award-winning author Alexandra Sokoloff, straddles the blood-red line between supernatural horror stories and ubiquitous serial killer thrillers.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

In Mary Tudor: Princess, Bastard, Queen, Anna Whitelock sets out offer a picture of English first Queen Regnant as something other than the “weak-willed failure as so often rendered by traditional