Incarceration

Reviewed by: 

The Eighth Amendment to the United States Constitution prohibits cruel and unusual punishment at the hands of the government.

Reviewed by: 

“The criminal justice system is in need of a seismic shift, and Kelley, Pitman, and Streusands' proposal is exactly the kind of major change needed.”

Reviewed by: 

Teaching teenagers is a calling. Despite limited social respect and wages that sometimes border on mere subsistence, dedicated professionals heed the call. The job is not easy.

Reviewed by: 

James Forman Jr.’s new book tells an all-too-hidden and tragic part of the story of the rise of the racist mass incarceration state in the United States.

Reviewed by: 

“A must-read for any educator or anyone interested in better understanding the transcendental power of higher education.”

Reviewed by: 

The body of scholarship dedicated to analyzing, understanding, and changing America's enormous carceral complex is growing fast.

Reviewed by: 

“a refreshing look at the causes of mass incarceration . . . a must-read for anyone involved in the criminal justice reform movement.”

Reviewed by: 

“College for prisoners saves money and provides great net benefits to the prisoner and the community.”

Reviewed by: 

As a somewhat jaded and world-weary incarcerated writer, rarely do I read something that makes me really mad.

Reviewed by: 

“The criminal justice system has adapted itself to the world of mass incarceration.”

Reviewed by: 

In 1852 Charles Dickens said of solitary confinement, "I hold this slow and daily tampering with the mysteries of the brain, to be immeasurably worse than any torture of the body: and because its g

Reviewed by: 

Fans of Dwayne Michael Carter, Jr.—also known as Lil Wayne and Weezy—will want to pick up his new journal, Gone ’Til November.

Reviewed by: 

The For Beginners series of graphic nonfiction books take on complicated subjects in an authoritative but accessible and entertaining manner.

Reviewed by: 

Sociologists, criminologists, and other scholars regularly study and debate what works about the American criminal justice system and what doesn't.

Reviewed by: 

"Prisoners," wrote Supreme Court Justice Anthony Kennedy, "retain the essence of human dignity. . . .

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

As the nation comes to grips with the incarceration boom of the last several decades, sociologists, criminologists, and other experts have begun to closely examine the collateral consequences broug