Musicians

Reviewed by: 

“Elaine Hayes’ vivid portrait of Sarah Vaughan’s life, times, and indelible musical legacy reveals why she was indeed called The Divine One.”   

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Byrne touches on a broad array of forces that influence and shape the musical experience—from how it is created, performed, recorded, and distributed to more personally meaningful aspects

Author(s):
Reviewed by: 

When promoting Inside Joy Division in 2012, Peter Hook hinted that a tell-all New Order book might be in the pipeline.

Reviewed by: 

British classical pianist James Rhodes is a rebel with a cause as he unleashes his iconoclastic view of the vaulted world of classical music in concert halls and on British TV and in the streets an

Reviewed by: 

“Love the music, love the man, read the book.  “

 

“Writing about music is like dancing about architecture.” —Attributed to many

Reviewed by: 

The very idea of a high-gloss, pricey photo book about the Sex Pistols seems ludicrous on the face of it.

Reviewed by: 

Fans of Dwayne Michael Carter, Jr.—also known as Lil Wayne and Weezy—will want to pick up his new journal, Gone ’Til November.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Generally, books about the Beatles can be divided into two groups, either the all-encompassing history of the band (Tune In by Mark Lewisohn is of course the best example but far from the

Reviewed by: 

Paul Du Noyer has set himself up with this book because, honestly, what else is there to say about Paul McCartney?

Reviewed by: 

Teenagers who heard the Wilson brothers—better known as the Beach Boys—harmonize on their big hits, “Surfin’ Safari,” “I Get Around,” “California Girls,” and “Good Vibrations” in the early 1960s, p

Reviewed by: 

Unsurprisingly, there have been numerous collections of photographs and thousands of words published about Led Zeppelin.

Reviewed by: 

The journalist, biographer, and Rolling Stone contributing editor Rob Sheffield calls David Bowie a lot of names: tramp, vagabond, and “the most alien of rock artists” to name a few.

Reviewed by: 

Imagine being Moby, the musician who just happens to be an actual descendant of Herman Melville (which is where Moby gets his nickname, get it?), and you’re asked to write your memoirs without the

Reviewed by: 

Writing an all-encompassing book about the life of Paul McCartney is akin to writing the definitive biography of Jesus Christ.

Reviewed by: 

It’s easy to think of Carly Simon—gorgeous, tall, and talented—as swanning through her charmed celebrity life.

Reviewed by: 

In the final minutes of Martin Scorsese's Goodfellas, Henry Hill (Ray Liotta) opens the door to his nondescript suburban home.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

After I finished reading M Train, Patti Smith’s mesmeric new memoir, I sat on a round chair in a humid house and didn’t move. The hour, it seemed, had been churched.

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

No one at a Dead concert is dancing to “Eyes of the World” and hearing the same thing.

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“. . . pretty much everyone can take away something positive from this book.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“What also sets apart Marianne Faithfull: A Life on Record is that it is written by the subject and not by some third party who never knew her.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

A volume of prayer, meditation, worship and dance, Lit Up Inside: Selected Lyrics by Van Morrison features the best of a man driven by memory, th

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

Hancock, a Buddhist, writes about his spiritual journey in Possibilities but isn’t preachy about his its effect on his life, relationships, music and philosophy.”

Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“Gavin keeps focus on what Peggy Lee was doing musically even as everything else in her life was sensationally spiraling out of control.”

Author(s):
Genre(s):
Reviewed by: 

“For readers whose only context for life in South L.A.

Pages